The history of Sunbury Plantation House goes back over three hundred years. It was built around 1660 by Matthew Chapman, an Irish/English planter, one of the first settlers on the island.
The main building features quoined corners, a water catchment situated on the west side of the house is dated 1788 suggesting that this was the date that the roof was replaced following damage in the 1780 hurricanes.
The house suffered a disastrous fire on July 24th 1995. The furniture that was destroyed by the fire was replaced by part of the Harold Bowen collection as well as with many items made available for purchase by numerous Barbadian families.
Sunbury is located in the tranquil St. Philip countryside, a leisurely 25-minute drive from Bridgetown along Highway 5 through the rolling hills of St. George and into St. Philip.
Over 300 years old, this former plantation house is steeped in history, featuring mahogany antiques, old prints and a unique collection of horse-drawn carriages. This is the only great house, with all rooms available for viewing. Take a tour or enjoy a special candlelight Plantation Dinner!